Department Directory

John Abbott

John Abbott

Adjunct Professor, Biological Sciences
Associate Professor, Museums

(205) 348-0534
jabbott1@ua.edu

Nicole Ackermans

Assistant Professor
Awards Committee Chair


nlackermans@ua.edu

Frank Akamagwuna

Postdoctoral Researcher (Thomas Lab)


fcakamagwuna@ua.edu

Meenakshi Arora

Meenakshi Arora

Affiliate Faculty
Associate Professor, College of Community and Health Sciences

(205) 348-2379
marora1@ua.edu

Carla Atkinson

Carla Atkinson

Associate Professor

(205) 348-6805
carla.l.atkinson@ua.edu

Yuping Bao

Yuping Bao

Adjunct
Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering

(205) 348-9869
ybao@eng.ua.edu

Arthur Benke

Arthur Benke

Professor Emeritus

(205) 394-1668
abenke@ua.edu

Jon Benstead

Jon Benstead

Professor
Director of Graduate Program; Chair of Gradaute Admissions and Recruitment Committee


jbenstead@ua.edu

The University of Alabama script A and text that reads biological sciences

Will Blackwell

Adjunct
Emeritus of Botany, Miami University

(205) 348-9017
wblackwell70@gmail.com

Chris Brazel

Christopher Brazel

Adjunct
Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering

(205) 348-9738
cbrazel@eng.ua.edu

Edward Burress

Edward Burress

Assistant Professor
Communications Committee Chair


edburress@ua.edu

Guy Caldwell

Guy Caldwell

University Distinguished Research Professor

(205) 348-9926
gcaldwel@ua.edu

Kim Caldwell

Kim Caldwell

Professor

(205) 348-4021
kcaldwel@ua.edu

Ruth Carmichael

Ruth Carmichael

Adjunct
Senior Marine Scientist II, Dauphin Island Sea Lab

(251) 861-2141
rcarmichael@disl.org

The University of Alabama script A and text that reads biological sciences

Just Cebrian

Adjunct
Research Professor, Mississippi State University


jcebrian@ngi.msstate.edu

Julia Cherry

Julia Cherry

Professor
Joint Appointment, New College

(205) 348-8416
julia.cherry@ua.edu

Lukasz Ciesla

Assistant Professor

(205) 348-1828
lmciesla@ua.edu

Nathan Correll

R. Nathan Correll

Assistant Professor

(205) 348-0267
rncorrell1@ua.edu

Ryan Earley

Associate Professor
Undergraduate Recruitment Committee Chair

(205) 348-1827
rlearley@ua.edu

Paige Ferguson

Paige Ferguson

Associate Professor
GTA Workload Assessment Committee Chair

(205) 348-1787
pfferguson@ua.edu

Robert Findlay

Robert Findlay

Professor Emeritus


rfindlay@ua.edu

John Finger

John Finger

Assistant Professor


jwfinger@ua.edu

Wayne Ford

Stanley Ford

Adjunct

(205) 454-6169
swford@ua.edu

Patrick Frantom

Patrick Frantom

Adjunct
Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, The University of Alabama

(205) 348-8349
pfrantom@ua.edu

John P. Friel, Ph.D.

John Friel

Interim Chair
Adjunct

(205) 348-9810
jpfriel@ua.edu

Raghu Ganugula

Raghu Ganugula

Affiliate Faculty
Assistant Professor, College of Community and Health Sciences


rganugula@ua.edu

Phillip Harris

Phillip Harris

Professor
Curator of Fishes, University of Alabama Ichthyological Collection


pharris@ua.edu

Pamela Hart

Pamela Hart

Assistant Professor
Chair of Seminar Committee


pbhart@ua.edu

The University of Alabama script A and text that reads biological sciences

Hank Heath

Associate Professor Emeritus


hheath@biology.as.ua.edu

Kenneth Heck

Kenneth Heck

Adjunct
Faculty Emeritus

(251) 861-2141
kheck@disl.org

Kaleb Heinrich

Kaleb Heinrich

Assistant Professor


kheinrich@ua.edu

Austin Hicks

Austin Hicks

Senior Instructor

(205) 348-1783
arhicks@ua.edu

Melanie Higgins

Melanie Higgins

Assistant Professor


mahiggins1@ua.edu

Kenneth Hoadley

Kenneth Hoadley

Assistant Professsor


kdhoadley@ua.edu

Tyler Hodges

Tyler Hodges

Assistant Professor


hodge002@ua.edu

Alex Huryn

Alex Huryn

Professor
Chair of Tenure and Promotion/Retention Committee

(205) 348-4136
huryn@ua.edu

Matt Jenny

Matthew Jenny

Associate Professor
Chair of Program Assessment Committee

(205) 348-8225
mjjenny@ua.edu

The University of Alabama script A and text that reads biological sciences

Margaret Johnson

Associate Professor Emerita


majohnso@ua.edu

Nate Jones

Nate Jones

Assistant Professor

(205) 348-1261
cnjones7@ua.edu

Susan Kennedy

Susan Kennedy

Instructor

(734) 730-6187
sekennedy@ua.edu

Brandon Kim

Brandon Kim

Assistant Professor
Chair of Gradute Symposium Committee

(205) 348-9017
bjkim4@ua.edu

The University of Alabama script A and text that reads biological sciences

Yonghyun Kim

Adjunct
Assistant Professor

(205) 348-1729
ykim@eng.ua.edu

Kevin Kocot

Kevin Kocot

Associate Professor
Curator of Invertebrate Zoology, Alabama Museum of Natural History

(205) 348-4052
kmkocot@ua.edu

Bernie Kuhajda

Bernie Kuhajda

Adjunct

(423) 785-3072
brk@tnaqua.org

M.N.V. Ravi Kumar

M. N. V. Ravi Kumar

Affiliate Faculty
Distinguished University Research Professor, College of Community and Health Sciences

(205) 348-2363
mnvrkumar@ua.edu

Kim Lackey

Kimberly Lackey

Associate Professor
Optical Analysis Facility Coordinator

(205) 348-1789
lacke003@ua.edu

Daryl Lam

Daryl Lam

Associate Professor


dwlam@ua.edu

Jayne Lampley

Jayne Lampley

Assistant Professor
Director, University of Alabama Arboretum and J. Nicholene Bishop Biological Station

(205) 348-3227
jalampley@ua.edu

The University of Alabama script A and text that reads biological sciences

Paul LeBlanc

Professor Emeritus


pleblanc@ua.edu

Juan Lopez-Bautista

Professor

(205) 348-1791
jlopez@ua.edu

Jeff Lozier doing field work

Jeff Lozier

Professor

(205) 348-2754
jeffrey.lozier@ua.edu

The University of Alabama script A and text that reads biological sciences

Therese McGinn

Associate Professor


tmmcginn@ua.edu

Michael McKain

Michael McKain

Associate Professor
Curator of the University of Alabama Herbarium


mrmckain@ua.edu

The University of Alabama script A and text that reads biological sciences

Tina Miller-Way

Adjunct
Chair, Discovery Hall Programs, Dauphin Island Sea Lab

(251) 861-2141
tmiller-way@disl.org

Behzad Mortazavi

Behzad Mortazavi

Adjunct
Affiliate Faculty

(315) 443-3949
beyzadm@syr.edu

Julie Olson

Julie Olson

Professor
Curriculum Committee Chair


jolson@ua.edu

Jenna Poole

Jenna Poole

Assistant Professor


jmpoole3@ua.edu

Sarthok Rahman

Sarthok Rahman

Postdoctoral Researcher (Lozier Lab)


srahman7@ua.edu

Katrina Ramonell

Katrina Ramonell

Associate Professor
Undergraduate Coordinator


kramonel@ua.edu

The University of Alabama script A and text that reads biological sciences

Jane Rasco

Associate Professor Emeritus


jrasco@ua.edu

Laura Reed

Laura Reed

Professor
Chair of Advisory Committee

(205) 348-1345
lreed1@ua.edu

Leslie Rissler

Leslie Rissler

Adjunct

(703) 292-4628
lrissler@nsf.gov

Shruti Sharma

Shruti Sharma

Postdoctoral Researcher (Higgins Lab)


ssharma27@ua.edu

Arial Shogren

Arial Shogren

Assistant Professor


ashogren@ua.edu

Adam Siders

Postdoctoral Researcher (Cherry/Jones Labs)


asiders@ua.edu

Jon Sin

Jon Sin

Assistant Professor


jjsin@ua.edu

The University of Alabama script A and text that reads biological sciences

Gary Sloan

Professor Emeritus

(205) 348-8444
gsloan@ua.edu

Shannon Speir

Shannon Speir

Postdoctoral Researcher (Atkinson Lab)


shannon.speir@ua.edu

Gregory Starr

Gregory Starr

Professor

(205) 348-0556
gstarr@ua.edu

Ben Titus

Ben Titus

Assistant Professor


bmtitus@ua.edu

The University of Alabama script A and text that reads biological sciences

John Valentine

Adjunct
Executive Director, Senior Marine Scientist III, Dauphin Island Sea Lab

(251) 861-2141
jvalentine@disl.org

Amelia Ward

Amelia Ward

Professor Emeritus

(205) 348-1796
award@ua.edu

Milton Ward

G. Ward

Professor Emeritus
Curator of Insects, Alabama Museum of Natural History

(205) 348-1796
mward@ua.edu

Jeana Yates

Jeana Yates

Senior Instructor

(205) 348-8372
Christine.j.yates@ua.edu

John Yoder

John Yoder

Associate Professor
Director of MA Program

(205) 348-1814
jhyoder@ua.edu