2019 Scholarship Recipients

2019 Scholarship Recipients

Every spring, outstanding graduate and undergraduate students are recognized for their achievements and awarded much-appreciated scholarships. Thank you to the donors who have made these scholarships possible!


Graduate Awards

The Inge and Ilouise Hill Research Fellowship

Katie Sandlin


The Joab Langston Thomas Scholarship

Rebecca Varney


Outstanding Teaching by a Graduate Student in Biological Sciences

Fall 2018 – Samuel Scopel & Jennifer Thies

Spring 2018 – Jennifer Gresham & Feng Kong


Bishop Award

Anthony Cremo, Aurora Giorgi, Jason Jackson, & Matteo Monti


The Ralph L. Chermock Prize

Andrei Bombin


The Graham Prize

Katie Sandlin


Undergraduate Awards

The Michael L. McDaniel Memorial Scholarship

Victoria Colon, Caitlin Kinder, Vanessa Marshall, Emma Neumann, & Olivia Van Praag


The Septima Cecilia Smith Award, Biology

William Jackson, Madelyn Lee, & Pedram Maleknia


The Septima Cecilia Smith Award, Marine Science

Jillian Hochstrasser


The Grantland and Louise Rice Scholarship

Ryan Cooke, Bailey Creighton, Owen Cunneely, Jillian Dunbar, & Sarah Thomas


Holzanagel Award in Biology Major

Charis Thomas


The James D. and Donjette Yarbrough Scholarship

Sarah-Ashley Giambrone


The J. Henry Walker Memorial Scholarship

Madison Brewster