Marcus lab students Elan Strange and Lacey Kennedy earn first place awards for presentations at scientific conference

Two student researchers in Dr. Stevan Marcus’s lab, Elan Strange (M.S. student) and Lacey Kennedy (B.S. student), earned first place awards for their presentations at the 2017 Southeastern Regional Yeast Meeting. Elan earned first place in the graduate student oral presentation category for his talk entitled “The CDP-ethanolamine branch of the Kennedy Pathway plays a critical role in cytoprotective responses to the tumoricidal triterpenoid glycoside avicin G in the fission yeast, Schizosaccharomyces pombe”. Sophomore student Lacey Kennedy earned first place in the poster presentation category for her poster entitled “Role of the TOR Stress Response Pathway in Resistance to the Potent Antitumor Compound, Avicin G, in Fission Yeast”. The department congratulates Elan and Lacey for their outstanding accomplishments!