UA LSAMP Program

A Bridge to the Doctoral Program

The Department of Biological Sciences participates in the University of Alabama Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) program. The program trains students in Master of Science programs for continued graduate study and research at the doctoral level. Undergraduate students who are seniors at one of the schools in the LSAMP alliance (see list below) are eligible to apply.

Students who are selected will receive an annual stipend of $30,000 and remission of tuition and fees during their first two years in graduate study. Upon completion of their M.S. degrees, students will continue their graduate education, supported through a Research Assistantship and/or Graduate Teaching Assistantship for three more years.


To apply for the UA LSAMP program, submit the LSAMP program application and the Graduate School application.

If you have questions about the graduate program in biological sciences, please contact Dr. Stevan Marcus, graduate program director, at

Participating institutions

Alabama LSAMP Alliance

  • Alabama A&M University
  • Alabama State University
  • Auburn University
  • Miles College
  • Oakwood College
  • Stillman College
  • Talladega College
  • Tougaloo College
  • Tuskegee University
  • The University of Alabama
  • University of Alabama-Birmingham
  • University of Alabama-Huntsville

Florida LSAMP Alliance

  • Florida A&M University
  • Florida State University
  • University of Central Florida
  • University of Florida
  • University of Miami
  • University of South Florida
  • Albany State University
  • Bethune-Cookman College
  • Florida Memorial College
  • Florida International University

Georgia LSAMP Alliance

  • Clark Atlanta University
  • Georgia State University
  • Morehouse College
  • Paine College
  • Spellman College

Louisiana LSAMP Alliance

  • Southern University and A&M College
  • Grambling State University
  • Dillard University
  • Tulane University
  • Louisiana State University
  • Southern University-New Orleans
  • University of Louisiana-Lafayette
  • McNeese State University
  • University of New Orleans
  • Southern University-Shreveport
  • Louisiana Universities Marine Consortium

Mississippi LSAMP Alliance

  • Jackson State University
  • Alcorn State University
  • Mississippi Valley State
  • University of Mississippi
  • Mississippi State University
  • University of Southern Mississippi
  • Delta State University

North Carolina LSAMP Alliance

  • North Carolina A&T State University
  • Fayetteville State University
  • North Carolina Central University
  • North Carolina State University
  • University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • University of North Carolina, Charlotte
  • University of North Carolina, Pembroke
  • Winston-Salem State University

Tennesse LSAMP Alliance

  • Tennessee State University
  • LeMoyne-Owen College
  • Middle Tennessee State University
  • University of Tennessee
  • Vanderbilt University

Texas LSAMP Alliance

  • Texas A&M University
  • Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi
  • Prairie View A&M University