Faculty and instructors

Dr. Janis M. O’Donnell / Professor and Chair
(205) 348-9810 / jodonnel@ua.edu / 1320 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Carla Atkinson / Assistant Professor
(205) 348-6805 / carla.l.atkinson@ua.edu / 2109-B Bevill Building

Dr. Jon Benstead / Professor
(205) 348-9034 / jbenstead@ua.edu / 2099-A Bevill Building

Dr. Guy A. Caldwell / University Distinguished Research Professor
(205) 348-9926 / gcaldwel@ua.edu / 3306 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Kim A. Caldwell / Professor
(205) 348-4021 / kcaldwel@ua.edu / 3307 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Julia A. Cherry / Associate Professor
(205) 348-8416 / julia.cherry@ua.edu / 1030 Bevill Building

Dr. Stanislava Chtarbanova-Rudloff / Assistant Professor
/ schtarbanova@ua.edu / 2311 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Carol Duffy / Associate Professor
(205) 348-4414 / cduffy3@ua.edu / 3330 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Ryan Earley / Associate Professor
(205) 348-1827 / rlearley@ua.edu / 213 Biology Building

Dr. Paige Ferguson / Assistant Professor
(205) 348-1787 / pfferguson@ua.edu / 2109-C Bevill Building

Dr. Janna Fierst / Assistant Professor
(205) 348-1830 / janna.l.fierst@ua.edu / 1339 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Robert Findlay / Professor
(205) 348-4167 / rfindlay@ua.edu / 2105 Bevill Building

Dr. Rosianna Gray / Assistant Professor
(205) 348-1998 / rosianna.r.gray@ua.edu / 380 Nott Hall

Dr. Phillip M. Harris / Professor
(205) 348-1831 / pharris@ua.edu / 407 Mary Harmon Bryant Hall

Dr. Asma Hatoum-Aslan / Assistant Professor
(205) 348-4097 / ahatoum@ua.edu / 3311 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Jennifer Howeth / Assistant Professor
(205) 348-0865 / jghoweth@ua.edu / 1106 Bevill Building

Dr. Alex Huryn / Professor
(205) 348-4136 / huryn@ua.edu / 2107-A Bevill Building

Dr. Matthew Jenny / Associate Professor
(205) 348-8225 / mjjenny@ua.edu / 3318 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Kevin M. Kocot / Assistant Professor
(205) 348-4052 / kmkocot@ua.edu / 307 Mary Harmon Bryant Hall

Dr. Daryl Lam / Assistant Professor
(205) 348-3582 / dwlam@ua.edu / 405 Mary Harmon Bryant Hall

Dr. Juan M. Lopez-Bautista / Professor
(205) 348-1791 / jlopez@ua.edu / 309 Mary Harmon Bryant Hall

Dr. Jeff Lozier / Assistant Professor
(205) 348-2754 / jeffrey.lozier@ua.edu / 1346 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Stevan Marcus / Associate Professor
(205) 348-8094 / smarcus@ua.edu / 3310 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Behzad Mortazavi / Associate Professor
(251) 861-2141 Ext. 2189 / bmortazavi@ua.edu / Dauphin Island Sea Lab

Dr. Julie B. Olson / Professor
(205) 348-2633 / jolson@ua.edu / 3323 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Jason Pienaar / Assistant Professor
(205) 348-5999 / jpienaar@ua.edu / 2312 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Martha J. Powell / Professor
(205) 348-9017 / mpowell@ua.edu / 1338 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Katrina Ramonell / Associate Professor / Associate Chair for Academics
(205) 348-9512 / kramonel@ua.edu / 2310 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Laura Reed / Assistant Professor
(205) 348-1345 / lreed1@ua.edu / 2330 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Stephen M. Secor / Professor
(205) 348-1809 / ssecor@ua.edu / 420 Biology Building

Dr. Patricia Sobecky / Professor and Associate Provost for Academic Affairs
(205) 348-8314 (Rose); (205 348-1807 (SEC) / psobecky@ua.edu / 265 Rose Administration Building

Dr. Gregory Starr / Associate Professor
(205) 348-0556 / gstarr@ua.edu / 3097A Shelby Hall

Dr. Christina Staudhammer / Associate Professor
(205) 348-1538 / cstaudhammer@ua.edu / 2109-D Bevill Building

Dr. Edwin C. Stephenson / Professor
(205) 348-1828 / estephen@ua.edu / 2329 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. John Yoder / Associate Professor
(205) 348-1814 / jhyoder@ua.edu / 2336 Science and Engineering Complex

 

Instructors

Dr. Todd Casanova
(205) 348-1802 / tbcasanova@ua.edu

Mr. Austin Hicks
(205) 348-1783 / austin.r.hicks@ua.edu

Dr. Susan Kennedy
sekennedy@as.ua.edu

Dr. Kim Lackey
(205) 348-1789 / lacke003@ua.edu

Mr. Britton O’Shields
(205) 348-8236 / Britton.R.OShields@ua.edu / 3324 SEC

Ms. Jeana Yates
(205) 348-8372 / cjyates@ua.edu

Dr. Yu Wang
wyu5@ua.edu

 

Faculty Emeritus

Dr. Arthur C. Benke
(205) 348-1799 / abenke@ua.edu / 3322 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Hank E. Heath
(205) 348-1999 / hheath@ua.edu / 382 Nott Hall

Dr. Ronald Hood

Dr. Margaret Johnson
(205) 348-1819 / majohnso@ua.edu / 2311 Science and Engineering Complex

Dr. Paul A. LeBlanc / Professor
(205) 348-5849 / pleblanc@ua.edu / 353 Nott Hall

Dr. Jane F. Rasco / Associate Professor
(205) 348-7623 / jrasco@ua.edu / 2327 Science and Engineering Complex and 423 Biology Building

Dr. Gary L. Sloan
(205) 348-8444 / gsloan@ua.edu / 255 Nott Hall

Dr. Harriett E. Smith-Somerville

Dr. Amelia K. Ward
(205) 348-1796 / award@ua.edu / 2109B Bevill Building

Dr. G. Milton Ward
(205) 348-1798 / mward@ua.edu / 1085 Bevill Building

 

Postdocs
Dr. Urmila Maitra (O’Donnell)
umaitra@ua.edu

Dr. Meaghan Pimsler (Lozier)
mlpimsler@ua.edu

Dr. Suja Rajan (Sobecky)
srajan@crimson.ua.edu

Dr. Clare Scott (Reed)
cscott33@ua.edu

Dr. Yu Wang (Duffy, Jenny)
wyu5@ua.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Yuping Bao, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, UA

Dr. Will H. Blackwell, Emeritus of Botany, Miami University

Dr. Christopher Brazel, Deparment of Chemical and Biological Engineering, UA

Dr. Laura Busenlehner, Department of Chemistry, UA

Dr. Ruth Carmichael, Dauphin Island Sea Lab

Dr. Just Cebrain, Dauphin Island Sea Lab

Dr. Patrick Frantom, Department of Chemistry, UA

Dr. Lucie Heath, Department of Biological Sciences, UA

Dr. Kenneth L. Heck, Dauphin Island Sea Lab

Dr. Ronald P. Kiene, Dauphin Island Sea Lab

Dr. Chritine Miller-Way, Dauphin Island Sea Lab

Dr. John F. Valentine, Dauphin Island Sea Lab

 

Map of Biological Sciences Buildings