We are proud of the contributions our alumni make to science and society. We would like to keep up with graduates from the Department of Biological Sciences, just to find out where you are and what you’re doing. Please consider sharing your information with us using this form. You can also provide news about yourself that we will publish on our website.

Jason Chesser (B.S. 2006) has just completed his Ph.D. in the Department of Biology at the University of Mississippi. Jason was an undergraduate researcher in the Rissler Lab during his undergraduate days. (5/10)

Dr. J. Whitfield Gibbons (B.S. 1961, M.S. 1963) was awarded the Clarence E. Watson award by the Southeastern Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies. Dr. Gibbons is Senior Research Ecologist at the Savannah River Ecology Lab and Professor of Ecology at the University of Georgia. (5/10)

Dr. Gary N. Ervin (B.S. 1996, Ph.D. 2000) Associate Professor of Biological Sciences at Mississippi State University, received the 2009 MSU College of Arts & Sciences Faculty Research Award. Dr. Ervin also was named the 2009 Doug Wilcox Outstanding Associate Editor for his services as Associate Editor to the international scientific journal, Wetlands.

Dr. James D. Williams (Ph.D. 1969) has published “Freshwater Mussels of Alabama and the Mobile Basin in Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee.” Dr. Williams is a Research Associate in the Florida Museum of Natural History, Gainesville, Florida. (4/09)

Dr. Heather (DeHart) Johnson (B.S. 1992, M.S. 1994, Ph.D. 1997), Associate Professor of Biology at Western Kentucky University has received the Ogden College of Science and Engineering Teaching Award (left) and the Western Kentucky University Teaching Award (right). (3/09)

Nathan Putman (B.S. Marine Science 2006) has just completed his second year in the Ph.D. Program at UNC Chapel Hill. In addition he has published his first, first authored article (Putman NF and Lohmann KJ. 2008. Compatibility of magnetic imprinting and secular variation. Current Biology 18 (14) R596-R597). Congratulations Nathan. (9/08)

Dr. Lawrence Davenport (M.S. 1978, Ph.D. 1983) Professor of Biological and Environmental Science at Samford University, was named the 2007 Alabama Professor of the Year by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. (5/08)

Dr. Rick Myers (B.S. 1977) has been named the director of the HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology in Huntsville. Dr. Myers is currently professor and chair of Genetics at the Stanford University School of Medicine and director of the Stanford Human Genome Center. He will begin his full-time duties at HudsonAlpha in fall 2008. (9/07)